New parliamentary constituency boundaries for the Wakefield district

Wednesday, January 31, 2024

Wakefield Council is reminding residents about the changes to the parliamentary constituency boundaries in the district ahead of a General Election being called this year.

These boundaries identify the area that each MP will represent, and who residents get to vote for.

The changes mean that the district will now be covered by four new boundaries – one constituency will include a ward within Leeds City Council and one will include wards within the Kirklees Council area.

The new boundaries are as follows:

•    Pontefract, Castleford and Knottingley – Airedale and Ferry Fryston; Altofts and Whitwood; Castleford Central and Glasshoughton; Knottingley; Pontefract North; Pontefract South
•    Ossett and Denby Dale – Denby Dale; Horbury and South Ossett; Kirkburton; Ossett; Wakefield Rural; Wakefield South
•    Wakefield and Rothwell – Rothwell; Stanley and Outwood East; Wakefield East; Wakefield North; Wakefield West; Wrenthorpe and Outwood West
•    Normanton and Hemsworth – Ackworth, North Elmsall and Upton; Crofton, Ryhill and Walton; Featherstone, Hemsworth, Normanton, South Elmsall and South Kirkby

“Whenever the General Election does take place, it will be quite different for some residents due to the changes to the parliamentary constituency boundaries.

“I’d advise everyone to familiarise themselves with which constituency they live in as it may have changed since the last General Election. It’s really important that people know who they get to vote for.”

Gillian Marshall

Electoral Registration Officer

Gillian Marshall

To find out which constituency you live in, please visit 

Or to find out more about elections in the district, visit 


Consultation underway to consider the district’s ward boundaries

At a meeting last week, Wakefield Council agreed to submit a proposal to the Local Government Boundary Commission (LGBCE) for England‘s consultation on future ward arrangements in the district.

Once the consultation has ended, the LGBCE will present their proposals on 7 May 2024. Residents will then get another chance to have their say on the plans before a final decision is made.

If any changes are made, they will not come into force until the 2026 Local Elections as there will be no elections in the Wakefield district in 2025.

These changes do not affect ward boundaries for the upcoming Local Elections this May. 

Gillian Marshall, Wakefield Council’s Electoral Registration Officer, said: “Boundary reviews play an important part in making sure that Wakefield councillors represent about the same number of electors, and that ward arrangements help the Council work effectively. And that they reflect community ties and identities.

“It’s important for residents to have their say on what they think about their local area and how they can be best represented.”

For more information about the ward boundary review, please visit 

Back to top