Changes to parliamentary constituencies

There has been changes to parliamentary constituencies in our district. A constituency is the name given to an electoral area and identifies which MP you can vote for in a General Election.

The Parliamentary Boundary Review 2023, means the Wakefield district will now be covered by four new constituencies instead of three.

These changes affect everyone. Some people will now live in a different constituency and for others, it will just be the name of your constituency that has changed.

One constituency will include a ward within Leeds City Council and one will include wards within the Kirklees Council area.

The new constituencies don’t apply yet, but they will as soon as the next General Election is called. Until then your MP and constituency remains the same.

To find out what changes have been made to your parliamentary constituency, you will need to know which ward you live in. You can do this by checking Where I Live - Wakefield Council and entering your postcode.

Here is a list of wards and their new constituencies:

Your ward Your constituency
Airedale and Ferry Fryston
Altofts and Whitwood
Castleford Central and Glasshoughton Knottingley
Pontefract North
Pontefract South
Pontefract, Castleford and Knottingley
Denby Dale
Horbury and South Ossett
Wakefield Rural
Wakefield South
Ossett and Denby Dale
Stanley and Outwood East
Wakefield East
Wakefield North 
Wakefield West 
Wrenthorpe and Outwood West
Wakefield and Rothwell
Ackworth, North Elmsall and Upton
Crofton, Ryhill and Walton 
South Elmsall and South Kirkby
Normanton and Hemsworth

Help us improve

Select how useful the page is
Back to top