Types of election

​​The Electoral Services Office administers all national and local elections in the Wakefield District.

This includes Parliamentary, Local Council, European Parliamentary, Police and Crime Commissioner, and Parish/Town Council elections, as well as any referendums and by-elections that can occur at any time.

For detailed information about different types of election, see Parliament UK and Electoral Commission.

Parish/Town Council elections

The next scheduled Elections in Wakefield are in May 2023.

There are 30 parishes within the district, 24 of which have Parish/Town councils.  The other six hold an annual parish meeting but do not have an elected Parish council.

Parish council elections are held every four years and all the parish councillors are elected each time.

More information about the district's Parish/Town councils can be found in our Town and Parish charter.

District Council elections

The next scheduled Elections in Wakefield are May 2020.

The Council is currently made up of 63 councillors with three councillors representing each of the 21 wards.

At each local council election one councillor is elected per ward, to serve on the council for four years.  Local council elections are held annually in three years out of every four.  In the fourth year there are no local council elections.

For details on the current district councillors see Find your councillor.

Parliamentary (general) elections

After the Parliamentary Election in 2019- the next scheduled Elections are now set for May 2024.

There are currently three parliamentary constituencies within the Wakefield District:

  • Hemsworth
  • Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford
  • Wakefield

The Morley and Outwood constituency contains part of Wakefield District but is administered by Leeds Council's electoral services.

According to the Fixed Parliaments Act 2011, general elections must be held every five years, beginning in 2015, but can be held before the end of this five-year period for a limited number of reasons.

Police and Crime Commissioner elections

The next scheduled PCC Election is in May 2020.

The first ever Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) election took place in November 2012. Its purpose was to elect a Police and Crime Commissioner for each police force area in England and Wales outside London.  Wakefield is located within the West Yorkshire police force area, and is the lead local authority in respect of PCC elections for the West Yorkshire area.

More information about the 2016 Police and Crime Commissioner election.


In a referendum, the government asks members of the public to help decide on an important issue.  Referendums are an opportunity for members of the public to make their opinions known to the government. The government can decide to call a referendum on any issue. 

In 2011, voters in the UK were asked to take part in a referendum to decide whether they wanted  to change the way we vote in general elections. So far, nationwide referendums in the UK have always focused on the way our democracy works, for example, the relationship between the UK Parliament and the European Union.

Referendums don’t have to be called by the UK government - they also happen in local councils.  Members of the public can petition their local government to hold a referendum on any issue. The results help to inform councillors about what local people want.

In 2012, Wakefield District voters were asked to decide whether or not they wanted to introduce an elected mayor.

European Parliamentary elections

The UK ended its EU membership on 31 January 2020 and is now in a transition period until the end of 2020. There are no further scheduled European Elections.

Wakefield was previously located within the Yorkshire and Humberside region for the purposes of elections to the European Parliament.  European Parliamentary seats are allocated on a proportional representation basis. These elections did take place every five years, with six members elected for the Yorkshire and Humber region.

For more information regarding the UK European Parliament information, see European Parliament.

Contact us

Electoral Services Office

County Hall

01924 305023