Town and Parish Council by Elections 2021

On Thursday, 6 May 2021, there will be a number of Town and Parish Council by Elections taking place around the District.

This is because a number of parish and town council seats have been vacated since March 2020. This page shows those vacancies and sets out which are going to be filled at a by election and which can be, or have already been, filled by co-option.

Vacancies to be filled at an election

Vacancies have been advertised in the following parished areas where an election has been requested. If any election is contested it will be held on 6 May 2021 alongside scheduled elections for District Councillors and the election of a West Yorkshire Mayor.

​Vacancies to be filled at an election
Parish/Town area
​No. of vacancies
Vacating Councillor(s)
​Hemsworth Town Council -
West Ward
​Ken Colvin
​Hemsworth Twon Council -
East Ward
​Glen Robert Holmes
​Upton Parish Council
​Clive Drobig
​Walton Parish Council
​Helen Massey Eric Prince

Vacancies to be filled by co-option

The following vacancies were advertised but an election was not requested. In the following areas, the Parish or Town Council can now co-opt new members, or have co-opted new members as shown.  If you are interested in being a Parish Councillor in these areas, please contact the parish or town council direct.

​Vacancies to be filled by co-option
​Parish/Town area
No. of vacancies
Vacating Councillor(s)
Name of Co-Optee
(if vacancy has been filled)
​Dan Crawshaw
Geoff Thompson​
​Sausan Colley
Kevin Barker
Paul Denton
​Martyn Hampshire
Arthur William Ripley
Sylvia Walker
Remain vacant after the May 2019 elections
​Havercroft-with-Cold Hiendley
​Faith Heptinstall
Albert Manifield
Michelle Massey
John Shaw
Michael Beecher
Ayrton Pointon
David Pointon
Ryan Cotton​
​David Wood
Patricia Beevers
Karen Fretwell
​June Cliffe
Steve Goodhead
Kath Shingles
Karen Palmer
2​​Keith Morris
Kalvir Reehal
​South Elmsall
​Jon Treacy
Robert Hayhurst​