Members of Parliament

​​​Members of Parliament (MPs)

Members of Parliament are elected to the House of Commons at a General Election. If a seat becomes vacant between General Elections a By-election is held.

For electoral purposes the United Kingdom is divided into 646 constituencies. The political party with the majority of seats in the House of Commons forms the Government. Political parties in the minority form the Opposition.

Three MPs represent the Wakefield Metropolitan District. However a fourth constituency includes parts of the district and details of that MP are also shown below. 

The following were elected at the general election held on 12 December 2019:

Hemsworth constituency

Jon Trickett MP   
Tel: 01977 655695 (Office)

Surgery Details: Please telephone office for appointment

Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford constituency

Yvette Cooper MP
Tel: 01977 553388 (Office)

Surgery Details: Regular surgeries which may vary - telephone to confirm.

Wakefield constituency

Imran Ahmad Khan MP

Morley and Outwood constituency

Andrea Jenkyns MP
Tel: 0113 345 0380

Surgery details: See Andrea's website for dates and venues of surgeries

When should I contact my MP?

More information

Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) - Yorkshire and The Humber

Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) were first elected by direct universal suffrage in 1979.  This ensures democratic control over the European Union. MEPs now decide much of European Union law, such as on the Single Market, environment, transport, etc.  

Elections for the European Union take place every five years. The last election was 22 May 2014.

The United Kingdom has 72 MEPs.  In the Yorkshire and Humber Region there are 6 MEPs - 1 Conservative, 2 Labour, and 3 United Kingdom Independence Party, elected by proportional representation in 2014 to cover the whole region as follows:-


Linda McAvan MEP
tel: 01709 875665
fax: 01709 874207

Richard Corbett MEP
tel: 0113 245 8992


Timothy Kirkhope MEP
tel: 01423 866001
website: www.kirkhope.or​​​

Amjad Bashir MEP
tel: 00 322 284 5319

UK Independence Party (UKIP)

Jane Collins MEP
tel: 00 322 284 5104
website: www.jane-colli​

Mike Hookem MEP
tel: 00 322 284 5561

Contact us

Electoral Services
01924 305023