Members of Parliament

Members of Parliament are elected to the House of Commons at a General Election. If a seat becomes vacant between General Elections a By-election is held.

For electoral purposes the United Kingdom is divided into 646 constituencies. The political party with the majority of seats in the House of Commons forms the Government. Political parties in the minority form the Opposition. 

Three MPs represent the Wakefield Metropolitan District. However a fourth constituency includes parts of the district and details of that MP are also shown below.

The following were elected at the general election held on 12 December 2019:

Hemsworth constituency

Jon Trickett MP
Tel: 01977 655695 (Office)

Surgery Details: Please telephone office for appointment

Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford constituency

Yvette Cooper MP
Tel: 01977 553388 (Office)

Surgery Details: Regular surgeries which may vary - telephone to confirm.

Wakefield constituency

Simon Lightwood MP
Tel: 01924 682269

Morley and Outwood constituency

Andrea Jenkyns MP
Tel: 0113 345 0380

Surgery details: See Andrea's website for dates and venues of surgeries

When should I contact my MP?

More information

Contact Us

Electoral Services Office County Hall Wakefield WF1 2QW

Help us improve

Select how useful the page is
Back to top