Changes to Wakefield Council’s Deputy Cabinet Members announced

08/10/2018, PR8894

Wakefield Council’s controlling Labour Group has confirmed changes to three Cabinet Assistant positions.

Cllr George Ayre, Cllr Michelle Collins and Cllr Jack Hemingway resigned from their Cabinet Assistant positions last month, and have been replaced by the following elected members:

• Cllr Faith Heptinstall is now the Deputy Cabinet Member for Adults and Health
• Cllr Richard Taylor has taken up the post of Deputy Cabinet Member for Culture, Leisure and Sport
• Cllr Martyn Ward has joined the team as the Deputy Cabinet Member for Environment and Communities.

Cllr Peter Box CBE
Cllr Peter Box CBE, Leader of Wakefield Council

Cllr Peter Box CBE, the Leader of Wakefield Council, said: “I would like to welcome the three new members joining the team. I am confident that these councillors have the knowledge, enthusiasm, experience and dedication needed to serve the district well.”

The full list of Cabinet positions is:

Leader – Cllr Peter Box
Economic Growth and Regeneration (Deputy Leader) – Cllr Denise Jeffery
Transport and Highways – Cllr Matthew Morley
Culture, Leisure and Sport – Cllr Jacquie Speight
Adults and Health – Cllr Pat Garbutt
Children and Young People – Cllr Margaret Isherwood
Environment and Communities – Cllr Maureen Cummings
Corporate Services – Cllr Les Shaw

The Cabinet Assistants are now as follows:

Economic Growth and Regeneration – Cllr Darren Byford
Transport and Highways – Cllr Jessica Carrington
Culture, Leisure and Sport – Cllr Richard Taylor
Adults and Health – Cllr Faith Heptinstall
Children and Young People – Cllr Richard Forster
Environment and Communities – Cllr Martyn Ward
Corporate Services – Cllr Michael Graham

The new Cabinet Assistants have been approved by the Council Leader, Cllr Peter Box, and took up their positions on Friday (5 October).

Contact us

Press Office

Room 11
Town Hall