Christmas in Wakefield



Ice skating rink

Friday 21 November - Wednesday 24 December

Open 11am to 5pm Monday - Saturday (4pm Sunday) 

Bigger and better than last year!

  • 30 minute sessions on the synthetic rink for £2
  • Tickets to be purchased from Wakefield Visitor Centre (during opening times and from ice rink staff outside these hours)
  • Last sessions start 30 minutes before closing times

Get your skates on and come down for a spin!

Festive market and activities

Friday 21 November - Sunday 23 November
Friday 28 November - Sunday 30 November
Friday 5 December - Sunday 7 December

Open 10am to 5pm Friday and Saturday (4pm Sunday

Christmas wouldn’t be Christmas without a festive market!

  • Hot street food overlooking the ice rink
  • Festive drinks

Christmas lights switch on

Friday 21 November at 6pm - Wakefield Cathedral Precinct
Monday 24 November at 6:30pm - Pontefract Market Place
Tuesday 25 November at 5:30pm - Castleford Carlton Street

To find out more this Christmas in Wakefield:

Free parking

Parking in Council-run car parks in Wakefield, Castleford and Pontefract will be free from 3pm on the these dates:

  • Thursday, 27 November 2014
  • Thursday, 4 December 2014
  • Thursday, 11 December 2014
  • Thursday, 18 December 2014

Find your nearest Council car park

Please note that the free parking offer does not include privately-run car parks or Merchant Gate car park.

Downloads


Contact Us


Markets and Major Events

Wakefield Council
Wakefield One
PO Box 700
Burton Street
Wakefield
WF1 2EB

01924 307825 / 307826