Career Framework - Career Grade Progression

Career framework

We are committed to supporting the continuous professional development of social workers through a clearly defined career framework and training pathway.

Development pathways have been designed to support continuous professional development in accordance with the Knowledge and Skills Statement (KSS) for Child and Family Social Work; the Professional Capabilities Framework (PCF) and the Health and Care Professions Council (HCPC) Standards of Proficiency to support ongoing registration requirements and career development in Wakefield Children and Young People’s Services.

The CYPS Social Work Career Framework covers Grades 8 to 12 and includes social work levels from newly qualified social worker to Team Manager.

Children and Young People Social Work Career Framework

Social Worker Level 1

Social Worker Level 2

Social Worker Level 3

Advanced Social Work Practitioner

Social Work Team Manager

Grade 8

Salary range

£26,822 to £29,323

Grade 9

Salary range

£30,153 to £32,486

Grade 10

Salary range

£33,437 to £36,379

Grade 11

Salary range

£37,306 to £40,057

Grade 12

Salary range

£41,025 to £43,821

Our newly qualified social workers are appointed at this level – to progress to Grade 9 is subject to successful ASYE and career progression assessment

Progression to Grade 10 is subject to successful career progression assessment

Progression beyond this point via a formal recruitment process

Progression beyond this point via a formal recruitment process

Progression beyond this point via a formal recruitment process

Grades 8-10 of the framework make up the Social Work Career Grade. This Career Grade includes two progression points (from Grade 8 to Grade 9 and from Grade 9 to Grade 10).

The progression process applies at each progression point and all criteria must be fully met to gain promotion to the next level within the Social Work Career Grade.

Progression beyond Grade 10 of the Social Work Career Framework will be through a formal recruitment process into vacant posts.

All newly appointed social workers are supported through a robust induction programme and all newly qualified social workers appointed to a social work post within CYPS will be supported to complete the Assessed and Supported Year in Employment (ASYE) which is a mandatory requirement.

Career Grade progression scheme

Progression within the Social Work Career Grade is through an internally assessed evidence-based portfolio, case file audit and Progression Interview.

There are two progression points; Grade 8 to Grade 9, and Grade 9 to Grade 10.

The process is the same for both progression points. More information about the Progression Scheme can be found in the Flowchart.