Statutory duties of senior management

Chief Executive - Merran McRae

The most senior officer of the Council is the Chief Executive.

The role of Chief Executive is a full time appointment made by elected members. It provides leadership and takes responsibility for all the Council’s employees.

By law, the Chief Executive is not allowed to participate in any party political activity and is expected to advise and assist all councillors, irrespective of their political affiliation. The Chief Executive works closely with the Leader of the Council and other elected members – particularly the Cabinet - to provide leadership, strategic direction and operational management.

Corporate Directors

The Corporate Directors form the Corporate Management Team (CMT) which is responsible for managing Council employees and for advising elected members on the potential implications of political decisions.

CMT is chaired by the Chief Executive and made up of four corporate directors, supported by the Chief Finance Officer, Chief Legal Officer and the Chief Officer, Wakefield CCG.

By law, senior Council officers are not allowed to participate in any party political activity and are expected to advise and assist all councillors irrespective of their political affiliation.

Statutory Officers

Each council has to nominate certain statutory officers. The following hold these responsibilities for Wakefield:

Chief Finance Officer - Neil Warren

  • Section 151 Officer

Telephone: 01924 306433
Email: nwarren@wakefield.gov.uk

Chief Legal Officer - Gillian Marshall

Monitoring Officer

Telephone: 01924 305177
Email: gmarshall@wakefield.gov.uk

Director of Regeneration and Economic Growth - Tom Stannard

Corporate Director of Regeneration and Economic Growth
Telephone: 01924 306950
Email: tstannard@wakefield.gov.uk

Director of Children's Services - Beate Wagner

Corporate Director of Children and Young People's Services
Telephone: 01924 307725
Email: bwagner@wakefield.gov.uk  

Director of Adult Social Services - Andrew Balchin

Corporate Director Of Adults, Health and Communities
Telephone: 01924 307725
Email: abalchin@wakefield.gov.uk

Chief Planning Officer - Neil Rodgers

Telephone: 01924 305858
Email: nrodgers@wakefield.gov.uk

Designated Scrutiny Officer - Mark Tolson

Telephone: 01924 305014
Email: mtolson@wakefield.gov.uk