Wakefield Council’s Cabinet members revealed for 2017/18

11/05/2017, PR8556

Wakefield Council’s controlling Labour Group has proposed changes to Cabinet Member positions for 2017/18.

Following Cllr David Dagger’s retirement from Cabinet, Cllr Les Shaw will become the Cabinet Member for Corporate Services. Cllr Jacquie Speight will now take up the portfolio for Culture, Leisure and Sport.

Some of the Cabinet member assistants have also changed. Cllr Darren Byford will become the Deputy Cabinet Member for Economic Growth and Regeneration, Cllr Jessica Carrington becomes Deputy Cabinet Member for Transport and Highways and Cllr David Jones will move to become the Deputy Cabinet Member for Adults and Health. Cllr Richard Forster will take up the post of Deputy Cabinet Member for Children and Young People, Cllr Lorna Malkin will become Deputy Cabinet Member for Environment and Communities and Cllr George Ayre the Deputy Cabinet Member for Culture, Leisure and Sport.

Cllr Peter Box CBE
Cllr Peter Box CBE, Leader of Wakefield Council

Cllr Peter Box CBE, Leader of Wakefield Council, said: “I would firstly like to thank Cllr David Dagger for his continued hard work and commitment to Cabinet, who is now standing down after seven years.

“I would also like to welcome all the new members joining the Cabinet team. We continue to face tough times but I am confident that this team of Cabinet members and assistants includes the right blend of knowledge and experience to meet these challenges head on.”

The full list of proposed Cabinet positions for 2017/18 is:

Leader – Cllr Peter Box
Economic Growth and Regeneration (Deputy Leader) – Cllr Denise Jeffery
Transport and Highways – Cllr Matthew Morley
Culture, Leisure and Sport – Cllr Jacquie Speight
Adults and Health – Cllr Pat Garbutt
Children and Young People – Cllr Olivia Rowley
Environment and Communities – Cllr Maureen Cummings
Corporate Services – Cllr Les Shaw

The proposed Cabinet Assistants are as follows:
Economic Growth and Regeneration – Cllr Darren Byford
Transport and Highways – Cllr Jessica Carrington
Culture, Leisure and Sport – Cllr George Ayre
Adults and Health – Cllr David Jones
Children and Young People – Cllr Richard Forster
Environment and Communities – Cllr Lorna Malkin
Corporate Services – Cllr Martyn Johnson

The new Cabinet will be formally approved by Full Council at the Mayor-Making and Annual Council meeting on Thursday 18 May. The meeting will be live-streamed from 11.30am at

Contact us

Press Office

Room 11
Town Hall