Wakefield's Cabinet members revealed for 2016/17

PR 8223
11 May 2016

Wakefield Council’s controlling Labour Group has proposed changes to Cabinet Member positions following the recent local election.

Cllr Matthew Morley will become the Cabinet Member for Transport and Highways and Cllr David Dagger will take up the portfolio of Modern Public Services.

Some of the Cabinet member assistants have also changed. Cllr Jo Hepworth will become the new Deputy Cabinet Member for Transport and Highways, Cllr David Jones becomes Deputy Cabinet Member for Economic Growth and Skills, and Cllr Jessica Carrington joins as Deputy Cabinet Member for Adults and Health.

Cllr Peter Box CBE, Leader of Wakefield Council, said: “I would like to welcome all the new members joining the Cabinet team, as well as all the new councillors taking up post this year. I am confident that this team of Cabinet members and assistants includes the right blend of knowledge, experience and new blood to serve the district well.

“We continue to face tough times and my Cabinet and I will meet these challenges head on.”

The full list of proposed Cabinet positions for 2016/17 is:

Leader – Cllr Peter Box
Economic Growth and Skills (Deputy Leader) – Cllr Denise Jeffery
Transport and Highways – Cllr Matthew Morley
Culture, Leisure and Sport – Cllr Les Shaw
Adults and Health – Cllr Pat Garbutt
Children and Young People – Cllr Olivia Rowley
Environment and Communities – Cllr Maureen Cummings
Modern Public Services – Cllr David Dagger

The proposed Cabinet Assistants are as follows:
Economic Growth and Skills – Cllr David Jones
Transport and Highways – Cllr Jo Hepworth
Culture, Leisure and Sport – Cllr Jacquie Speight
Adults and Health – Cllr Jessica Carrington
Children and Young People – Cllr George Ayre
Environment and Communities – Cllr Richard Forster
Modern Public Services – Cllr Martyn Johnson

The new Cabinet will be formally approved by full Council at the Mayor-Making and Annual Council meeting on Thursday 19 May.

Contact us

Press Office

Room 11
Town Hall

01924 305 294 or 305 295