Wakefield’s Cabinet members revealed for 2015/16

PR 4953
11 May 2015
Wakefield Council’s controlling Labour Group has proposed a change to several Cabinet assistant positions following the recent local election.

The Cabinet members will remain the same, but some of their assistants have changed.

Cllr Peter Box CBE, Leader of Wakefield Council, said: “We continue to face tough times and my Cabinet and I will meet these challenges head on.

“I am confident that this team of Cabinet members and assistants includes the right blend of knowledge and experience to serve the district well.”

The full list of proposed Cabinet positions for 2015/16 is:

Leader – Cllr Peter Box
Economic Growth and Skills (Deputy Leader) – Cllr Denise Jeffery
Transport and Highways – Cllr David Dagger
Culture, Leisure and Sport – Cllr Les Shaw
Adults and Health – Cllr Pat Garbutt
Children and Young People – Cllr Olivia Rowley
Environment and Communities – Cllr Maureen Cummings
Corporate Performance – Cllr Graham Stokes

The proposed Cabinet Assistants are as follows:

Economic Growth and Skills – Cllr Jack Hemingway
Transport and Highways – Cllr Matthew Morley
Culture, Leisure and Sport – Cllr Jacquie Speight
Adults and Health – Cllr Michelle Collins
Children and Young People – Cllr George Ayre
Environment and Communities – Cllr Richard Forster
Corporate Performance – Cllr Martyn Johnson

The new Cabinet will be formally approved by full Council at the Mayor-Making and Annual Council meeting on Thursday 21 May.